What Should You Consider When Users Leave?
When a user leaves, the records that the user added in The Raiser’s Edge will still show that user’s name.
This information is available in records via File, Properties. For example, when you open a constituent record and select File, Properties, the following information will show:
In the above example, the constituent – Terry E Jones – was added by Pauline on 23/05/2000. If Pauline leaves, the Added By field will continue to show Pauline as she was the user who added the constituent record.
In light of this, you should decide if a user’s account in The Raiser’s Edge in Admin, Security should be inactivated or deleted.
To inactivate a user, so you can keep a history of past users as well as current users:
- Open the relevant user in Admin, Security.
- If the user has Supervisor Rights marked under Group Assignments, change to Selected Group Rights, but do NOT make the user a member of any group.
If the user is not a member of any group, then the user has no rights in The Raiser’s Edge.
- If the user already has Selected Group Rights marked and is a member of one or more security group(s), remove those so that the Member Of list is blank.
- You may also want to prefix the user name at the top of the screen with an X, for example, to identify them as an ex-member of staff.
Alternatively, if you prefer to delete the user who has left, please see What to consider before deleting a user name and what information is lost when deleting a user?
If Blackbaud Hosts Your Raiser’s Edge Database:
When Blackbaud hosts your Raiser’s Edge database, users can log in from the office, from home, or anywhere else as long as the machine used has a compatible version of Citrix ICA client installed.
See What version of Citrix should I have to access the Application Hosting environment and how do I download it if you would like more information on this.
When a user leaves, it is important that you consider either disabling or deleting their Hosting/Citrix login so they cannot access your hosted environment. Again, the option you choose depends on whether you wish to keep track of historical and current logins.
To disable a hosting user account:
- Log in to hosting as an administrator– a user who has access to User Administration in Blackbaud Application Hosting.
- Click on User Administration and a list of security groups and users will show.
- Right-click on the relevant user and click the Disable Account option on the menu.
To delete a hosting user account:
- Complete steps 1 and 2 in above.
- Right-click on the relevant user and click the Delete option on the menu.